Jo Plaete

Visual Effects – 3D – Interactive Design

Wing Feather Tool Version II

with 33 comments

Working further on the wing feather tool for xsi, I decided to rewrite the tool partly and enhance it in terms of approach and usability. The next version of the tool introduces a guide feather approach to control the feather behaviour. It is still procedural in terms of generating your feathers and now gives you easier access to switch the interface inbetween various feather layers.

Quick Tour:

In detail overview:
http://www.edjstudios.be/rigging/j_feather_tool_V2_inDetail/j_feather_tool_V2_inDetail.html

All is written in Python(XSI), Actionscript 3.0(GUI) and Vbscript as link inbetween those two.
Any feedback would be very welcome 🙂 !

Jo

Written by Jo Plaete

August 8, 2008 at 12:00 am

Posted in 3D, animation, scripting, TD, XSI

33 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. HI Jo,plz can u give us more info about linking Flash action with Python function and command passing with VBscript,actualy i don’t have big knowledge on how to use VBscript to link Python and Flash but i love the idea.
    resource or help would be interesting soo,
    ah i fogot to say good work

    saber

    September 13, 2008 at 11:22 am

  2. Hi Jo, I watched the video, and have to say that it looks like a wonderful tool! I’m doing a non-profit project right now and will be working on some wing creation in xsi. I’d like to try your tool if possible, and could give you some feedback on its usage. Let me know if it would be available for testing! Thanks.

    Josh

    September 22, 2008 at 7:52 pm

  3. @saber: I’ll be publishing a post on how to use flash inside of xsi soon!

    @Josh: Thanks! You can defo give it a go, I’ll drop you an e-mail soon.

    joplaete

    September 22, 2008 at 11:08 pm

    • Hi Joe!

      I am currently working on Senior Thesis (3d Animation short) and have been researching all ends of the internet on how to create wing rig. I have to say your vid is one of the best I have seen man.

      I wanted to ask if I may use this tool to create wings on one of my main characters (an Angel).

      Any feedback is much appreciated. THANKS!

      Paola

      January 17, 2010 at 4:32 am

  4. […] this in action in my xsi wing feather tool: https://joplaete.wordpress.com/2008/08/08/wing-feather-tool-version-ii/   Flash Synoptic for griffin […]

  5. […] You can see this tool in action here. […]

  6. Hi Joe, Just wondering how I can buy your Feather tool, I would love to use it in my game projects… Tom.

    TOm

    October 13, 2008 at 2:41 pm

  7. Hi Jo can I use your very exiting tool?
    where I can download it?

    thanks

    Antonio

    October 25, 2008 at 11:01 am

  8. Hmmmm will this tool be sold or free? Thx(my name is Joe too :D)

    Joe 2

    October 30, 2008 at 1:45 pm

  9. Hello Joe
    I’d be interested in using your feather tool. Is it for purchase or free?
    I sent you an email but got an error message in return : “I’m sorry to have to inform you that your message could not be delivered to one or more recipients, blah blah”.
    Please give me a working email address, thanks!
    David

    David Saber

    December 3, 2008 at 11:37 am

  10. Hello. This looks like a great tool, I would like to try it. Great work!!!

    Pierre Gagné

    December 5, 2008 at 4:27 pm

  11. Hi Joe!
    I saw those 27 best minutes well spent of my life on your video about the j.wing tool II! I wish I could´ve had that tool when I was animating this:

    you could watch to the end of the video the girl flying with textured wings.
    I am currently working with a stylized toon look on my animated characters, and I´d love to give the tool my comments on toon shade 😀

    Congratulations on this work! This gives me solid base to back up my words and not let them switch to 4d cinema at work!

    I love the interface, such a clean, pretty functional design, and the inverse curve…man, that´s bull´s eye!

    Awesome tool.

    David

    December 7, 2008 at 7:36 pm

  12. Oh, one more thing about this j.wing: the texturing process is as one would regularly texture an object or is there a way the tool will pick up a textured feather?
    Bests.

    David

    December 7, 2008 at 7:37 pm

  13. Can I get a Download link?

    Black Sheep

    April 14, 2009 at 11:51 pm

  14. Hi, Jo. (If you don’t mind I call you Jo.)
    I found it is cool the J-feather-tool-v2.
    I want to try the tool within XSI 7.5
    Would you please send me over the tool? ^^

    And hope your Animal Logic life will be great.
    Waiting for your present.

    Hyunyi

    July 1, 2009 at 3:47 am

  15. the feather tool is amazing can you give us a chance to test it

    siva

    July 22, 2009 at 6:07 am

  16. Wow this tool is awesome

    I will love to have it Jo again the same question, are you selling this piece of art?

    Please let me know

    Appreciate it

    Stevan

    July 23, 2009 at 8:22 pm

  17. Looks great I am about to start a project with birds and wold love to have this tool … if its available please send me more info.

    thanks

    Edin

    September 15, 2009 at 9:44 am

  18. hi im learning xsi, and im about to initiate my final project where i want to make some angel wings (this plugin is awesome) is there any posibility for me to use your plugin (itll help me a lot since i dont have to much time), thnx in advance!

    roland

    October 21, 2009 at 6:19 am

  19. Hello Jo,
    I just watched the detailed overview of your tool and it is truly amazing. Im currently a final year animation student and my current project is based around an advertisement on conservation. Anyway the main character is a bird and the wing development that you have made would be perfect if i could use it.

    I dont have much experience with rigging so would really appreciate it if i could try your tool.
    If i could use it that would help me greatly and i will report any issues/ bugs i come across ect.

    i await your reply,
    thanks

    Aziz

    November 5, 2009 at 4:36 pm

  20. Amazing tool. I am a high school teacher and been looking for a way for my students to create feathers. I would love to get your tool. Please let me know how?

    Greg

    December 1, 2009 at 8:00 pm

  21. Hi!

    I am a student in Vienna and I would like to make a Hawk in XSI. I would reallay like to test your tool. Is ist free or for purchase?
    How can I get it?
    Thank you, Jakob

    Jack

    January 27, 2010 at 4:58 pm

  22. Hello Yoe.
    Needless to say you’ve created an effective tool and easy to use.
    I’m interested in it. Working with a character you would perfect your tool.
    Is there any way to get it?
    Thank you very much in advance.
    See you soon.

    Peri Perez

    January 28, 2010 at 12:34 am

  23. Hi,

    I am an animation student working on a project and would be very interested in trying this great tool. Is it publicly available?

    Thanks,
    Greg

    Greg

    March 10, 2010 at 5:36 pm

  24. Video works but the link is broken. 😦

    Alan

    June 18, 2010 at 6:08 am

  25. ho joe,

    that tool looks amazing, im planning to do some
    animation with a bird in it so i came across your
    youtube movie …. looks realy great …
    where can i download it … is it free or how much does it cost to get it?

    cheers maarten

    maarten heinstra

    September 5, 2010 at 10:02 pm

  26. This tool is awesome. I see that i am only a couple of yrs to late to the party, but had to throw my hat into the ring of those that want to play with it. I guess the only other questions i have are you still working on it, and what versions of XSI will it work with.

    Thanks and again AWESOME TOOL

    PS
    Congrats on the
    Legend of the Guardians – The Owls of Ga’Hoole

    was this tool used to do the wings in the film.

    Rushsaun

    November 4, 2010 at 12:43 am

  27. Hey Joe,

    I am an animation student and would love to trail your tool, or is it available for purchase anywhere?
    The tool looks amazing

    Lindsay

    November 14, 2010 at 10:19 am

  28. Any news when this tool will be available for purchase ?
    :o-

    pierregagne98

    January 26, 2011 at 10:49 pm

  29. Will this be next forgotten good tool, because it is not open to use?

    skalape

    November 16, 2011 at 10:30 am

  30. i am interested in testing it . where i can download it ?

    Boris

    May 11, 2012 at 7:42 pm

  31. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

    seoorganics.net

    May 7, 2013 at 12:12 pm

  32. I enjoy what you guys tend to be up too. This sort of clever work
    and exposure! Keep up the very good works
    guys I’ve you guys to my personal blogroll.

    Towing in Berwick

    July 12, 2013 at 3:05 am


Leave a Reply

